DID YOU KNOW? Carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited location without a CCW Permit is prosecutable as a Class 1 misdemeanor in most cases, punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500
Concealed Carry Weapons Misconduct
You might be surprised to learn how many people are carrying concealed and inadvertently breaking the law every day. “Ignorance” is not a defense you can hang your hopes on while facing a judge or jury, so a good understanding Arizona’s Firearm Laws is an essential part of being a responsible armed citizen and staying out of trouble.
Arizona is considered a “constitutional carry” state with regards to private individuals carrying firearms. The phrase “constitutional carry” means that the state’s laws allow residents and visitors to carry firearms in accordance with the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. In other words, your “AZ CCW Permit” is the Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. You do not need to go to great lengths to own or carry a gun in Arizona but obtaining your AZ CCW Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Permit (if taught by a competent instructor) will arm you with the knowledge to legally carry your firearm with confidence.
We recognize the gun laws in Arizona offer residents and non-residents a large degree of freedom, but with such freedom comes great responsibility. There are rules and limitations that apply to the AZ CCW concealed carry of firearms, and violations can lead to severe criminal consequences, including a prison sentence. Our Safehouse Defense program is here to help arm you with knowledge so that you understand Arizona’s Firearms Laws and how to avoid legal problems. In the event that you are facing any charges related to lawful self-defense, firearms or weapons we offer the most comprehensive range of legal services to our Safehouse Defense Members without charge.
Concealed Carry Rules in Arizona
Any person (not including prohibited possessors of firearms) who is age 21 years or older is allowed to have a weapon concealed on his or her person or in his or her vehicle. A person under the age of 21 may openly carry a weapon, provided that, he or she is at least 18. As stated above, in addition to these age requirements, an individual must also be allowed by law to possess a firearm. “Prohibited possessors” includes those who have been convicted of a felony, anyone adjudicated as mentally incompetent or a danger to themselves or others, individuals on felony probation, parole, felony house arrest, under felony indictment or who possess a prescription for medical marijuana.
JOIN THE SAFEHOUSE DEFENSE PROGRAM AND GET ACCESS TO ARIZONA'S BEST CONCEALED CARRY OF WEAPONS CLASSES
There are also limitations as to where you are allowed to carry a concealed weapon AZ CCW. Various statutes address prohibited locations, which include (but are not limited to):
Nuclear power stations and hydroelectric power facilities;
Polling places during any election;
School grounds, including the campuses of elementary, middle, and high schools;
On the grounds of a jail, prison, or any other correctional facility, including juvenile detention facilities;
On the Any private establishment or public event where firearms are expressly prohibited. This is most often expressed by posted "no weapons" signs.of a jail, prison, or any other correctional facility, including juvenile detention facilities;
Concealed carry in certain locations, such as bars and restaurants that serve alcohol, is only allowed for those who have obtained an Arizona Concealed Weapon Permit (CWP).
Carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited location without a CWP is prosecutable as a Class 1 misdemeanor in most cases, punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. If the location is a nuclear or hydroelectric power station, the charge is likely to be a Class 4 felony. A conviction could result in up to three years and nine months in prison for a first offense. Possessing a weapon as a prohibited possessor is also a Class 4 felony. In addition to these fines are attorney retainer fees that could easily get into the $20,000 to $50,000 range very quickly.
Castle Doctrine and Self-Defense
For the purposes of protecting yourself, your family, and your home, Arizona is considered a “Castle Doctrine” state, and you are allowed to “stand your ground.” Castle Doctrine laws are based on the concept that you have the right to be safe in your own home—your “castle”—and you are under no obligation to retreat from your home to stay safe. You also have the right to use force to protect yourself, your family, and your property if you are reasonably and imminently in fear of death or grave bodily harm. Understanding these laws and applying them properly while in a split-second lethal situation is where the real risks come into play. If you can get away, it would make sense to do so right? It is a delicate legal balance that could easily land you in prison if not handled skillfully.
“Stand Your Ground” laws are similar and apply outside of your home as well. The law applies to traveling, parking lots, events, your home, your car. If you are in a place where you are legally allowed to be and are not otherwise breaking the law, you are not required to retreat if another person threatens your safety or assaults you.
Under both the Castle Doctrine laws and the Stand Your Ground principles in Arizona, you are allowed to use reasonable force in proportion to the threat against you when it is immediately necessary to protect yourself or others from possible deadly force. However, deadly force is not considered justified simply to stop vandalism, theft or other property crimes. Keep in mind that not all states have the same stand your ground laws as Arizona.
Tim Forshey’s Online Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Certification course provides Safehouse Defense Members with the critical knowledge and required to start developing their Safehouse Defense Strategy. As an enrolled member, you’ll have access to FREE AZ CCW Online Certification Courses and on-going local educational courses and seminars for you and your loved ones.
Joining the Safehouse Defense Program provides you and your family with excellent benefits. Take a look the comprehensive protection plans and benefits and start today.
If you have any questions please contact our membership department at 1-602-691-6900.
AFFORDABLE MONTHLY & ANNUAL PLANS
Comprehensive Legal Protection For Arizona Members In 50 States
24/7/365 Attorney - Answered Emergency Hotline
Uncapped Attorney Fees For Criminal And Civil Cases, Bail Bond Up to $250,000, Expert Witness, Investigator Fees, Lost Wages, Expungement Of Criminal Record On Non-Conviction Incidents, Incident Scene Clean-Up, Counseling Support.
Free Multi-State AZ CCW Arizona Concealed Carry Certification Classes
Spouse And Minor Children Covered In Family Premium Plan
Discounted NFA Trust, Wills and Representation For Personal Injury Cases
Access to Free Members Only Online and Local In-Person Training, As Well As Discounts On Ammunition, Holsters, Gear, Firearms, Suppressors, Private Shooting Lessons & More.
(Covers one person at least 18 years of age and is an Arizona Resident)
FIREARMS LEGAL PROTECTION BENEFITS
Protection in all 50 states
Uncapped payment (attorney fees) for defense of criminal cases
Uncapped payment (attorney fees) for defense of civil cases
Protection extends to all legal weapons
Defense of Extreme Risk-Protection orders (Red Flag Laws)
Access to 24/7 emergency attorney-answered hotline
Expungement of criminal record on (non-conviction) incidents
Payment of expert witness fees
Payment of investigator fees
Coordination of counseling support
Payment of loss wages during trial
Incident scene clean-up provided
Access to digital content and discounts
FORSHEY LAW ARIZONA CONCIERGE LEGAL SERVICES
Safehouse Defense Consults $100 ($450 Value)
Most Other Criminal Cases
Orders Of Protection (Defense)
Motor Vehicle Accidents
Brain Injury/Spinal Cord Injury
Slip And Fall
All Serious Injuries
Simple Will $600 (Per Person - $1200 Value)
NFA Trust $400 ($1200 Value)
Get (2) Free AZ CCW Online Courses ($200 Value)
SHD Non-Firearms Related Services - Client remains responsible for any/all reasonable associated costs/expenses (i.e. expert witnesses, polygraphs, background checks, etc).